the Hope of Survivors

Board of Directors & Volunteers

Board of Directors (click on their names for more information)

Steve Nelson (since 12/02)—President, Board Chairman (2002-2004; 2014-Present), Ordained Pastor, Board Certified Biblical Counselor (BCBC) & Certified Belief Therapist (CBT)

Samantha Nelson (since 12/02)—Vice President & CEO, Board Certified Biblical Counselor (BCBC) & Certified Belief Therapist (CBT)

Martin Weber, D.Min. (since 4/08)—Board Chairman (9/09-1/13, and 1/17-Present); Chaplain at Hospice of Tabitha

Steven Grabiner (since 2/07)—Director; Vice President of Outpost Centers International

Shyleene Rosado (since 4/07)—Director; Latino Division Vice President/Victim Support Services/Board Member (1/13-Present)

Renée Battle Brooks (since 10/15)—Director; Assistant State’s Attorney for Prince George’s County, Maryland

Board Meeting 2015
The Hope of SurvivorsBoard Meeting in San Antonio, TX, in 2015. (Shown left to right: Ray Hartwell (Chairman), Jeanne Hartwell, Robert Peck, Steven Grabiner, Martin Weber, Jennifer Schwirzer, Steve Nelson, Samantha Nelson, Madeline Roll (Australia), Coralie Roll (Australia) and Wendy Schwitzer (Canada))
THOS Volunteer Appreciation Dinner March 2008
The Hope of Survivors Volunteer Appreciation Dinner (March 2008)

Advisory Panel

Tom Lemon (since 2/04)—Board Chairman Emeritus (2007-2009); Member Advisory Panel

Sandy Kirkham (since 8/06)—Member Advisory Panel; Victim Support Services

Jennifer Jill Schwirzer, LPC (since 9/07)—Director (2007-2016); Licensed Professional Counselor; Member Advisory Panel

Ted Vanderlaan (since 8/11)—Director (2008-2011); Board Chairman Emeritus (2013-2014); Member Advisory Panel, Attorney

Volunteer Staff

Robert & Debbie Withrow (since 2/04)—Accounting

Peggy & Dave Mahrt (since 5/05)—PR/Marketing

Gail Jenkins (since 8/10)—Victim Support Services

Mary Jo Noworyta (since 3/14)—Victim Spport Services; PR/Marketing

Sandra Barrera (since January 2016)—Child Victim Support Services

Jena Kilmer (since February 2016)—Victim Support Services; Norwegian Division

Tammy Landry (since March 2016)—Victim Support Services

Shirah Martinez (since May 2016)—PR/Marketing

Merlyn Matthews (since July 2016)—Victim Support Services

Latino Division Volunteer Staff

Shyleene Rosado (since 4/07)—Vice President; Victim Support Services (Latino Division)

David Pollock (since July 2015)—Marketing (Latino Division)

Angelica Pollock (since July 2015)—Law & Victim Resources (Latino Division)

Yesenia Elias (since July 2015)—Social Media (Latino Division)

Sandra Barrera (since January 2016)—Child Victim Support Services

Australia Division Volunteer Staff

Coralie Roll (since 1/06)—Board Member; Administration

Arlagene Groves (since 4/07)—Board Member; Victim Support Services

Darren Tappouras (since 10/11)—Board Member; Accountant

Romania Division Volunteer Staff

Maria Simionca (since 3/13)—Board Member; Administration

Cecilia Calin (since 3/13)—Accountant

Laura Fierbinteanu (since 12/13)—Board Member; Victim Support Services (Romania)

South Africa Division Volunteer Staff

Bianca Wright (since 1/16)—Vice President; Victim Support Services (South Africa Division)

Aletta de Beer (since 10/16)—Victim Support Services; Seminars

Beryl Nyamwange (since 10/16)—Victim Support Services; Seminars

UK Division Volunteer Staff


Philippines Division Volunteer Staff


Pastors' Wives Division Volunteer Staff

Jackie Jeldwyn (since 7/17)—Pastors' Wives Support Services

Sarah McDugal (since 9/17)—Pastors' Wives Support Services

Canadian Division Volunteer Staff

Leif Koester (since 10/17)—Vice President; Victim Support Services

Prayer Warriors

Dana Wimmer

The LORD is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart...Psalms 34:18